Games and Anime highlights of 2016 (Part 1)

I’m not gonna sugarcoat this, 2016 sucked as a year, just as a year in general. Not specifically animated or gamewise. Just fuck 2016.

So many good people died, tragedies have happened all across the world, USA got Donald Trump as a president and it’s terrifying and just so many things happening this year that it is probably going to go down as a year to be remembered. And not in a good way.

Thankfully though for anime and game fans, we actually had quite a good year and had some really awesome games and anime that I think are worth mentioning.

This is not going to be a Top10 or really a list per se, but just me telling you guys my personal favorite anime and games that have come out this year that I loved.

giphy

If a particular game or anime you’re looking for isn’t here, the most probable answer is I have yet to play/watch it because I have been busy with other things and I maybe got stuck playing a boss in some rpg lol who knows

Anyway let’s roll and I’ll start with games in this one!

FIRST OFF, some honourable mentions of games that i haven’t played personally (more like watching other people playing it lol) but I still count as highlights of the year regardless and will probably play once I got the money and time for it:

Overwatch, Uncharted 4, Watch Dogs 2, The Last Guardian, Project X Zone 2, Star Ocean: Integrity and Faithlessness, Steins;Gate 0 and Ace Attorney − Spirit of Justice.

1dcfbab76debfa33d4c40a48f9c592736f0fad7f_hq

God Eater Resurrection and God Eater 2: Rage Burst (PS4)

I played Gods Eater Burst when it first came out back in 2011 on PSP and was one of my fave rpgs on that console and just as an rpg in general. So imagine my surprise 5 years later when we didn’t just get the sequel localized, but an enhanced remake of the first game as well. I just really love these games for many reasons and I’m just happy that even after waiting for that long and giving up hope, we actually got these games. Just bless.

Speaking of waiting for long…

tumblr_o8qrittu2m1u6i0ico2_540

Final Fantasy XV (PS4)

Oh. My. God. Did we wait long for this game. TEN WHOLE YEARS IN FACT.

Was it worth it?

…Kind of?

I mean I love the game, there are many things I love about this game but there’s also a lot I don’t like about it in regards to the development cycle and the so many “this could have been in the game” that made me… “Slightly” angry haha… but, nonetheless the fact remains that we actually got the game out and I could actually play it. so gg Squeenix, now I’m just waiting for the story update and the DLC lol.

tumblr_o6z4pwsayr1v68t0mo1_500

Pokémon: Sun and Moon (3DS)

I haven’t gotten so far as I just got it for my christmas present and I haven’t played a lot but my general impression is that I quite like it! And I just want to give Team Skull a hug.

tumblr_n9b7wexcea1sf3h8qo5_500

Valkyria Chronicles Remastered (PS4)

Not much to say really, I just love both the first and the second game so much that I had to play it again dammit, and oh man the memories were coming back…

tumblr_nrupcp1ccv1svkfqgo1_r1_500

Odin Sphere Leifthrasir (PS4)

Another remake and remastered game, of PS2’s Odin Sphere, with new animation, stages, changes to gameplay etc. It’s just a really pretty game and I’m so happy that they wanted to make it prettier lolol

tumblr_o5cjinu6ce1uybfgko1_500

Bravely Second: End Layer

I absolutely loved the first game, I loved the visuals, the characters, the music, the gameplay and now when we got the sequel i squeeled with joy. Truly an awesome rpg game that everyone should play.

tumblr_static_82brdvci0bwowwko84ckgocw0_640_v2

Fire Emblem Fates (3DS)

Throwback to my Awakening review, I loved that game and now we got a new saga with new characters (with also some similar faces returning) and with similar gameplaydesign. I enjoyed playing Conquest and Revelation (have not played Birthright) and it was a very good game that I think everyone will enjoy regardless if they like strategy or not.

And this was it for Part 1 and in Part 2 i will talk about Anime and will probably be much MUCH longer hahaha

What were your game highlights of 2016?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Games and Anime highlights of 2016 (Part 1)

  1. The Otaku Judge says:

    Nice picks. Fire Emblem and Bravely Second both made my top five games of 2016. I wish Sega would localize the third Valkyria Chronicles game.

Leave a comment