YamiShikiMoon's Blog

Sarcastic girly nerd that talks about anything Anime, Manga, Game related that is of interest.

Assassination Classroom/Ansatsu Kyoushitsu Live Action Movie Review

Leave a comment

Okay. I just finished watching the Assassination Classroom live action movie and …..

was more or less not that impressed since they literally took out all my favorite moments in the series. I was pretty much giggling through the entire thing because of how ridiculous some of the scenes were.

Though I did have a lot of fun pointing out who each character was since I actually could tell who was who from the hairstyle and how they dressed. (They did pretty well matching appearance-wise since I could actually tell who was who despite not having the same hair color)

But what they pulled at the very last second near the end I just started yelling: WHAT?! YOU CAN’T DO THAT! THAT’S SEVERE SPOILERS (as in you don’t get to know that until 100+ chapters in the manga) AND YOU’RE JUST GIVING IT AWAY LIKE THAT?!?! AND NO ONE ELSE IN CLASS FREAKING NOTICED THAT?!?!?! AHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

I wish they focused more on some characters’ background but I understand that filming a live action is really hard and they had only 2 hours.

THE WHOLE CAST SEEMED TO HAVE SUCH A GREAT TIME TOGETHER AND NOW I KNOW WHY YAMACHAN GOT ALONG WITH THE CAST SO WELL

Hopefully October will come and they will get to act together again.

Now for the actual review.

The Story

The movie picks a lot of the noticeable scenes from the manga including multiple arcs such as both transfer students arcs (Ritsu and Itona) as well as everyone’s favourite teacher Takaoka.

I think in terms of content, my guess for the anime it would be up to the first 40-50 chapters and for the live action will be pretty similar. However, unlike 22 episodes, there will only be around 2 hours which is not much. Originally I was hoping that Ansatsu Kyoushitsu would get an 11-13 episode drama instead of a movie, but this ended up like Sukitte Ii na yo and Silver Spoon’s live movies where there was too much content and the movie felt kind of rushed as an result.

The Characters

Okay so I’m going to ignore the common complaints by most anime-only fans when it comes to live action adaptions of manga. I don’t care if you people hate that their hair ain’t blue/red or if they don’t look nearly how the character is in the original content. I’d rather have the characters be able to act the part well than to have them look similar and act the part horribly and ruin the movie.

I was honestly not expecting Yamada Ryosuke to play Nagisa – and no doubt, I know a lot of people didn’t expect it either. Now don’t get me wrong, being a Hey! Say! JUMP fan I love Yama-chan, but I wasn’t 100% on him playing Nagisa’s part. His diverse acting skills can get him playing someone as cold as Ryuu (Tantei Gakuen Q) to someone as goofy as Kindachi (Kindaichi shounen no jikenbo Neo), a lot of people will think he’s overrated and what not and a lot of people who don’t even know AssaClass will watch it anyway because of him, but we’ll leave it to the movie to see if he does Nagisa well.

And I think he did it very well.

I think most people’s complaints at first was about how he doesn’t look “trap”/girly enough. (But even then I’m probably the only person that that doesn’t think the original Nagisa looks like a girl to begin with…) However, I don’t think it will include any of the chapters where Nagisa needs to and will be confused as a girl so it won’t hurt much in terms of story, but more on the original manga fans who want it to stay true to the manga. (But again I think this was a good choice anyway, especially when you think about Nagisa and his horrible mother) I think personally, if he had done the movie a couple years younger he would have suited the appearance of the original content Nagisa more. Not necessarily in his days of Tantei Gakuen Q, but back when his face was still babyish and chubby (them cheeks xD).

Ofc we can just pull out the Risou no Musuko 2.0 and put Yama-chan in some cute girly clothes cause why not xD

And one a side note I laughed really hard at the first Nagisa vs Takaoka fight since he literally just smiled, walked over to Takaoka and went boop to him with the knife to his neck.

The other actors I’m not quite familiar with. I remember Suda Masaki (Karma) from High School Debut, but it’s been a while since I’ve watched that. Haven’t watch it, but I know he’s in Kamen Rider too.

He really does fit more of the delinquent-ness that Karma had and I think I can really take a liking to him playing him – Especially his chill fall of the cliff. I can see a few Karma fans taking a disliking to him just from not looking like Karma.

I don’t understand why they added that OC that interacted with Nagisa to be quite honest …. I mean, do they want to create a sort of menage à trois or love triangle or how do you want to call it!? Did they really have to?!

A lot of the others, I’ve seen them in one or no dramas/movies at all (Takaoka is Ando from Ikemen Desu ne ). Jiyoung is so fucking sexy, ‘kay. Exactly as Irina.

Korosensei

Keeping Korosensei to have his own section. I’ve seen a lot of comments about the CGI being okay or horrible from various people – someone said they should’ve gotten specific people from Weta to do it which is lol because Japan’s films are often way lower budget than your Hollywood ones.

I personally don’t mind Korosensei or maybe I’m just used to the cheaper CGI with watching too much jdramas/adaptations xD He does feel a bit more plastic-y than I imagined.

Overall

It looks like another “too much content into one movie” adaptation and would have been better suited a drama instead.

I watched it anyway as it’s one of my favorite manga and current anime as well as being a Hey! Say! JUMP fan and a fan of Yamada’s acting.

I’m going to say it now, but this movie is definitely not going to please everyone and I can tell a lot of people will be disappointed – especially for the people who will constantly compare original content to the adaptation. (Like me *cough*)

I would stick with watching the anime and reading the manga since it seemed like they didn’t have the budget to really go all out on those really epic scenes in the series (they stuck to one set for most of the movie). But if you’re just a die-hard fan of AC and need to see everything relating to it, I’d say go for it.

It’s not the greatest adaption since the scenes go by really quickly without really having any chance to have the characters in the spotlight. So I felt like I didn’t really have an attachment to anyone. All the epic scenes in the series felt really anti-climactic.

But overall it was interesting experience watching it.

Truthfully I think this will be a fun one to watch if you give it a chance.

Author: yamishikimoon

this is my blog which will mainly be about Anime, Manga, Game reviews and/or rants in general.

Leave a Reply

